The Unforgettable Leader

I wrote last week about how we as leaders need to build people up, to “elevate” them. One of my favorite quotes reinforces this idea. It is a quote from author William Arthur Ward. The quote reads,

Flatter me, and I may not believe you.
Criticize me, and I may not like you.
Ignore me, and I may not forgive you.
Encourage me, and I will not forget you.

As leaders, we make choices as to how we interact with our teams. We must remember that our behavior is a choice, and as such, we are accountable for how we choose to behave. Often times we get so busy that we just react to our team members, without thinking, and that may mean we criticize or ignore, even when we don’t intend to. So think about the choices you make with your leadership behavior. You can choose to flatter your team, to criticize them, ignore them, or encourage them. If we opt for encouragement, we leave a lasting impression on our team members. So choose encouragement with your team, build them up, and you will be an unforgettable leader.

Thanks for reading,
Jim

Leave a Reply

