The Power of Positivity

On a recent trip to Miami, I had the pleasure of riding in a shuttle on the way from the airport to the hotel. I know, I know, how could a shuttle ride in Miami possibly be a pleasure? Well, it was a pleasure because of my driver, Omar Hernandez. When the shuttle pulled up to the curb at the airport, a well-dressed gentleman jumped out from behind the wheel, extended his hand to me and said, “I am Omar. Welcome to Miami.” I could tell from his smile and warm greeting that Omar really knew how to deliver great customer service. Omar proceeded to load my bags into the van and then we were off.

I was fortunate this day because I had the van all to myself; there were no other passengers going to the area of Miami where my hotel was located. So I got to spend some time getting to know Omar. Omar moved to the United States from Venezuela. And although life had not always been easy for him, Omar always tried to stay positive. He told me how he starts every day by saying, “Thank you for this beautiful day and all my blessings.” Then he says, “Remember, nothing, no one or any thing, can take my happiness from me today. I will not let them. No matter how difficult my customers may be or how crazy the other drivers on the road may be, they can’t touch my happiness.” Omar really understands and believes in the power of positivity. He believes the mind is very powerful and if you stay positive you can overcome great challenges.

To prove this, Omar told me how he completed a full Ironman Triathlon several years ago. He swam 2.4 miles, biked 112 miles, and then ran a full marathon – 26.2 miles. Even though his body wanted to stop, he used his mind to keep him going. He kept pushing and believes he was able to finish the race because of the power of positivity.

As leaders, the power of positivity is an important tool for us. In the face of many obstacles and challenges, we must remain positive and communicate to our teams that if we work together we can weather the storm and come out stronger in the end. If we are pessimistic about the future, our teams will be also. But if we are positive and optimistic, our teams will believe we can achieve our goals and dreams. No doubt, times will get tough; challenges are a part of life. But when they do, remember Omar; and remember that nothing can take your happiness or your positivity away!

Thanks for reading,
Jim

4 thoughts on “The Power of Positivity

  1. It is a real story about a real person and real happiness. Thank you, Jim, for sharing your experience with us. There may be many people like Omar around us, but it is important for us to be one, a person who has a happy and positive outlook and is willing to share with others at all times. If we can share our happiness and make the people around us happy, the world will be a very peaceful and pleasant place.

  2. great commentary Jim, and thanks for your card—my new address is 677 Old Dover Road, Westerville, Ohio 43082

    ________________________________

  3. Pingback: Choose Happiness | Jim Earle

Leave a Reply

