Leadership Sure is Tough

I had the pleasure of having breakfast with some old friends yesterday.  I hadn’t seen them in quite a while and it was a real treat to catch up on life and our families.  One of them is a loyal reader of my blog and always very encouraging and supportive.  She mentioned that she tries to use my leadership ideas at work, but it’s not as easy as I make it sound.

I was so glad she shared this with me.  It made me realize that I have never written about how difficult this leadership stuff really is.  Leadership is hard and certainly not as easy as I make it seem when I write about it.  Leadership is challenging because it is all about people and people are VERY complex.  Furthermore, every member of our team is unique and this makes motivating and leading them even more difficult.  To be an effective leader, then, we need get to know the members of our team so well that we can motivate them, individually, to perform at their maximum levels.

This is not easy.  In fact, it is very hard.  At times, you may even feel like there is just no hope for you as a leader or for your team.  This is when you need to rely on your leadership strength to pull you through.  Your leadership traits of positivity, courage, confidence, commitment, and perseverance will get you through even the toughest leadership challenges.

Leadership is not easy.  But the rewards of seeing your team succeed and your team members achieve their goals are well worth the hardships that come with being a leader.  So fight through the difficult times.  Show your team that when the going gets tough, the great ones persevere.  And if you get to a point where you just don’t know what to do, reach out to me and we’ll see if I can help – jvearle@gmail.com.

Special Note:
If you enjoy reading my blog, you may be interested in my book that is now available.  “100 Yards of Success: Leadership Lessons from College Football” is available from the publisher at this link http://www.tatepublishing.com/bookstore/book.php?w=9781625107312

I appreciate your support and you sharing my blog with others.
Thanks for reading,
Jim

Leave a Reply

