Success Comes to Those Who are Remarkable

One of my numerous flaws is that I tend to be a bit committed to my routine. I like structure, a schedule, organization. And sometimes this means I am not as flexible as I should be. I am afraid it may also mean that I am a bit boring.

I was reminded of this last week when I read this quote from Seth Godin’s book Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable, “Remarkable takes originality, passion, guts, and daring. Not just because going through life with passion and guts beats the alternative (which it does), but because it’s the only way to be successful. Today, the one sure way to fail is to be boring. Your one chance for success is to be remarkable.”

Reading this quote was a good reminder for me that success requires us to leave our comfort zones and to get comfortable with the uncomfortable. We have to break out of the routine and do something original and daring. We need to use our 20 seconds of insane courage and embarrassing bravery (see this post from September 2014 for more on insane courage and embarrassing bravery, 20 Seconds of Insane Courage).

I am going to work on being remarkable this week. I will do something original and daring. I will use my 20 seconds of insane courage. Will you join me? If we are to be successful, we need to start being remarkable. Let’s work on it together.

Thanks for reading,

Jim

P.S. – Follow me on Twitter, @jvearle, and feel free to share my blog with others.

Leave a Reply

